Slow Code! Major problem, plz help!

Started by
12 comments, last by Gf11speed 22 years, 8 months ago
I have nearly completed my first major game, which I have been working on for 6 months now. However, throught the game''s development, I neglected to test it on another machine. Well today I tested it on two other machines and it was dirt slow! Definately not playable! So I come to ask for help... what exactly is making my code run so slow, and what could I do in my code to make my game run faster? I''m using C++, and DirectX. My system specs: 700Mhz,640MB RAM,Voodoo3 Test system specs: 800Mhz,128MB RAM, GeForce2 MX 450Mhz,64MB RAM, cheap/unknown video card It doesn''t make sense that it would run slower on the 800Mhz machine than it runs on the 400Mhz computer. Someone please help!!! I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks.
Greg FieldsSyntasoft Gameswww.syntasoft.comPost-Time Horse Racing (Available Now)
Advertisement
Is your game using Direct3D? I read somewhere that 3DFX cards take only a small performance penalty when changing states, far less than non-3dfx cards. Maybe that''s your problem?
If you are using D3D and you''ve hard coded it to use the voodoo3 (which is a secondary device), then when it runs on a non-voodoo machine it''ll use the software emulation mode - which is painfully slow.

You can only avoid this by using proper device enumeration.

Cheers

Matt

I saw you had 5 times more RAM on your machine. If your game needs more than the 128MB or the small overhead of Windows and your game need more than 128MB RAM. If that is so the comp would try to use the HD for extra mem (extreamly slow by up to 10x). That would definitaly slow down your machine. Just a thought. Hope that helps.

Tazzel3D - Zach
quote:Original post by sysmark
Is your game using Direct3D? I read somewhere that 3DFX cards take only a small performance penalty when changing states, far less than non-3dfx cards. Maybe that''s your problem?