Importing 3D files into C++

Started by
8 comments, last by AverageJoeSSU 14 years, 2 months ago
Hey, I just started learning C++ a month ago. So far, I know the basics; I can make simple programs and I know how to import text files. But how do I import 3D files? I want to make a simple game which will display a model on the screen. Do I need some kind of a file converter? or do I have to use a game engine? *I mostly use Wings3D and Blender to make my models
Advertisement
Try using: http://assimp.sourceforge.net/
I had never heard of that one, it looks pretty cool.

Thanks.

------------------------------

redwoodpixel.com

Thanks for the reply but how do I exactly install assimp? It says I have to install boost first. I downloaded both of them but I'm having trouble installing them
Moved to the For Beginners forum.
You'll need a 3D graphics API like DirectX or OpenGL to properly display the 3d objects. I think what you're missing is a good sense of what your 3d objects actually are.

A 3d mesh is just a huge collection of vertices, which are themselves just triples or 4-tuples of float/double values indicating x,y,z coordinates of each vertex.

Part of the "simple game" you're thinking of writing will have to accept a model file of some arbitrary format, read it, and know how to draw all the verts or the polygons they represent to the screen. This gets much trickier than you might originally think, it's not as simple as importing a text file (which is raw text, something your console knows how to work with quite easily).

There are a host of beginner DirectX/OpenGL tutorials out there, I think once you get the hang of rendering a single triangle to the screen, you'll understand more of what you're up against. For only having been working with C++ for a month, this is a bigger step up than what you may think.

Hazard Pay :: FPS/RTS in SharpDX (gathering dust, retained for... historical purposes)