difference in libs and dll's

Started by
1 comment, last by oler1s 14 years, 2 months ago
I am new to the c language but I am not new to programming. Even though I have not been programming for a very long time in c, I caught on to everything fairly quick. To be honest with you I just started like 5 days ago and I am getting a hang of using the directx sdk library I just wanted to make that clear so everyone can understand where I coming from. because for some people, not understanding dll's or lib's mean's not understanding the c language, which is not entirely true. I wanted to get into mod making and playing around with engines such as allegro. one of my weaknesses is Dll's and libraries. But mainly because there's not enough resources (where there should be) that cover's the topic. Or at least to an extent that i understand them, I maybe just slow. O well, atleast I am making a effort to learn. So let's make this post a special one for all the special kids out there trying to learn about lib's and dll's I am going to list all the things I know about dll's and libs. and you guy's can tell me what I don't know. And I am doing this sincerely so I appreciated if you do too. Thanks! ------------------------------------------------------------------------------ I know it's like a .exe file except I can not run it directly. and i know it contains resources like functions and varibles. I also know that in order to create it, I must go into VC++ and click on new/project/new project/class library I know that Stdafx.cpp and Stdafx.h must be included in the project and I must atleast include the Stdafx.h into my dll file. I do know that in order to use a .dll file. I must include them in general properties/linkers/general/link library dependencies I also know that .libs are like dll's. What i don't know... I don't what the difference between a .lib and a dll is. I don't know if I must include them both I don't know if I should include them independently. I don't know if I c