Need some input: bullet physics and Android

Started by
9 comments, last by bzroom 14 years ago
I managed to compile the bullet physics libraries for android using the android NDK...now I am in need of some direction regarding rendering. Android supports opengl, but does not have any GLUT libraries...which I noticed are used quite a bit in the bullet physics demos. My question is...what would be the best approach for rendering an object (say...a cube) dropped under gravity and colliding with the ground? I have written a simple Java app for android that draws a cube in 3 space and textures it with sides of a dice..and rotates it. I would like to hook this up to bullet and watch the dice bounce around. It seems like I should change the rendering from Java to C++...do I simply create the object in bullet and somehow export the vertices to opengl? Keep in mind I am a newbie at all this...
Advertisement
it's extremely easy to draw a cube with gl without using glut.

http://www.songho.ca/opengl/gl_vertexarray.html
bzroom...that wasn't my question.

My question is related to bullet...how do I attach bullet to opengl without using GLUT? Since I am not familiar with either one, is it simply a matter of taking the vertexes of the cube from bullet and rendering in openGL, or is some transformation needed?
Quote:My question is related to bullet...how do I attach bullet to opengl without using GLUT? Since I am not familiar with either one, is it simply a matter of taking the vertexes of the cube from bullet and rendering in openGL, or is some transformation needed?
You're talking about three different things here: a physics engine, a graphics API, and a windowing/events API. None of these is really *attached* to the others in any special way; in fact, they're all pretty much orthogonal to each other, and you could easily swap one of them out without affecting the others. (For example, you could swap GLUT for SDL and get basically the same results.)