How Can I Reduce My Compile Times?

Started by
20 comments, last by TSlappy 13 years ago
Hi there,
I am a graduate games programmer with around 6 months industry experience, and this dilemma is something that I often ponder. Up to this point, I have worked on a few projects which have grown to become substantial in size (approx. twenty - thirty thousand lines). Although I have strived for software orthogonality (i.e. modularity), and worked towards decoupling the various aspects of the systems I worked on, inevitably the projects bloat, interdependencies pop up, and compile times become long. I work in predominantly in C; I always ensure forward declarations over header includes, I use pointers wherever possible. Is it possible to modularise to the point where a module is completely free-standing? Would it be possible to place the various components of an engine into dll files (something I have never done)? On large scale projects, is this practice? - or does the solution reside in the one project file (somehow I doubt that)? dll's are windows specific; are there any platform unspecific ways to build linkable object files?
Advertisement
Do you mean just creating a static library
Grouping modules by what they do is a good practice. A lot of engines do that. The base dll defines only interfaces and plugins implement sub-systems. It will definitely reduce dependencies to only 1 dll (the base module). Having said that, a good way to reduce compile times is to use pre-compiled header files. The idea may seem trivial but having a good set of base headers that seldom change in a single header file and compiling that file once will reduce build times significantly. I am writing this from my personal experience.
What if everyone had a restart button behind their head ;P