Stressing IOCP server

Started by
24 comments, last by ramdy 13 years, 3 months ago
Hello,

First of all, Im not a network expert. I have been learning for some months about sockets just cause I need to implement an efficient server for that game we all have dream about (I am looking specially for it to be robust and stable). After making very basic IO models implementations: blocking, wsaasyncselect, etc. I have ended working on the Completion Ports model. I can say work is almost finished and I am now in the beta-testing phase. For it, I basically start a server and then, in other machines at LAN, I start around 10 clients. These clients, start sending massively all the time strings (around 200 chars length) to the server and everything work fine, but, after 1-2 hours (when server has collected about 100-200Mbytes), server crash :'(. Of course, I could prevent all this flowing but well, it is a stress test.
I look at memory and the server keeps stable (no memory leaks). Maybe Im forcing too much the server so it can't attend so much data and the story overflow somewhere... Don't know if it's something which may or may not happen and I don't even get any error message :'( It just crash.

Thanks in advance!
Advertisement
You mean your socket server program crashes? I'd perform better logging first. You can't force too much data on a server. The kernel manages the receive buffers and you can set the size of them but it won't just crash your program. It could be returning an error you're not catching though. Could be a buffer overflow in your code also. Are you debugging your code to see where it crashes or anything?

Also I recommend for creating a stable server to just use boost asio.

I look at memory and the server keeps stable (no memory leaks). Maybe Im forcing too much the server so it can't attend so much data and the story overflow somewhere... Don't know if it's something which may or may not happen and I don't even get any error message :'( It just crash.