Looking for some direction

Started by
18 comments, last by shanemf 22 years, 7 months ago
Hi, I'm currently in my first year of a computer science degree, and am hoping to eventually get into games development. Im just wondering what subjects are important to learn from a games developers point of view. Im guessing maths and physics are both helpful, but is there any particular areas of them that are more beneficial than others (I found the linear algebra tutorial on this site which I will definately read). What about assembly? Is it necessary to know how to program in assembly? Just one other stupid question. What is directX and openGL. I realise (I think) that they are for doing graphics in a windows environment, but are they utilities, do you need to learn another programming language to use them, or is C++ a suitable pre-requisite to learning them. Anyway, any sort of advice would be much appreciated. Thanks. Edited by - shanemf on September 5, 2001 11:49:59 AM
Advertisement
I cannot answer your first questions but DirectX and OpenGL are what we call APIs or Application Programming Interfaces. They are a set of Library functions that allow the programmer to turn the Windows enviroment into a games platform. Usually it will be difficult if not impossible to make a decent full screen game which is running in Windows, but DirectX allows you to do this by setting your graphics mode up and allowing you to write pixels to the screen and havinf control over ANY device plugged into your system with absolute ease.

Direct3D has functions for 3d graphics and can let you manipulate your 3d hardware. The good thing about DirectX is that it is compatible with any hardware such as

* Keyboard
* Mouse
* Joystick
* Monitor - Graphics card
* Or any other device you can plug in