Advices

Started by
3 comments, last by adder_noir 12 years, 11 months ago
How long could it take to learn C++ well and start programming some win32 and Directx11 (in native not managed) to reach the lv of a good junior programmer in a game studio or even better ????

am curious because I haven't programmed C++ in over 10years so like 30% of it would be revision... and I am not sure if it's worth all learning it even if I am really passionate about creating 3d engine because at 32 am affraid it could take too long... even if I have all day to do it all years long etc when I study the source of Quake 3 I am discouraged by the complexity and size of it, I ask myself question like will I ever be able to code like that/close to that i mean like working on a project that size etc

currently I am studying my MCITP certifications from Microsoft (IT Pro stuff, Active Directory, Dns, Dhcp, Virtualisation, Windows Server 2008 etc) and I am doing really fine, but 3d graphics seem to be my passion am just affraid a bit.... I live 4hr's of car from montreal and ubisoft recruit big like all the big studio so I was wondering, if I push it hard 10hr's a day for the next 3 years for example etc but at 1 point you have to decide what you want to do and stop learning 2-3 different things/fields

thanks a lot for your time and the invaluable advices

Kaven
Advertisement
Impossible question. How long did it take you to learn how to write? Or swim?

Some people learn things almost instantly. Others struggle and takes months or years or perhaps never grasp the subject. Really it all comes down to you.