So you want to be a real programmer?

Started by
60 comments, last by Alpha_ProgDes 12 years, 10 months ago
When I was starting out, I was just dying to earn my “real programmer badge™”. At the time “real programmers” used assembly and I was taking the lazy easy way out using C. So, in my quest to earn my real programmer badge I taught myself assembly. Now it took me 10 times as long to write my code and it sure was more difficult; no doubt my badge would be in the mail! Sadly… no, it didn’t arrive.

The years went by and assembly became more and more niche. In the meanwhile, higher level languages came to the fore. There were even languages that hacks and simpletons could rapidly create programs in, like Delphi ( pascal ) and Visual Basic. Of course real programmers looked down upon these amateurs, everybody knew that this wasn’t real programming. Hell even C++ was looked down upon, it was way too high level and slow for real programmers to use, so being a real programmer I kept using C. Things sure were slow and painful, lots and lots of work, no doubt my real programmer badge was on it’s way!

Another generation of languages came along, new pretenders like Java and C# rose in popularity and the lazy and weak flocked to them like mad. Real programmers of course knew that C++ was the one true language. Sure, those class libraries and the freedom from memory management sure looked tempting, but I am a real programmer damn it, so I continued working in C++. My god was it difficult so I truly must be getting close to getting my real programmer badge. When it didn’t arrive I decide there surely must be a mistake at the post office!