C++ Grammars

Started by
9 comments, last by daviangel 12 years, 11 months ago
I am new to C++, but have done other work in Java and Basic. Anyways, my question is "What is a Grammar in C++? And how do I use one?" In my book I'm reading "Programming Principals and Practice using C++" I need to know what a Grammar is. It explains it very vaguely, and I just don't understand it. Can you please help?

Thanks
Jesse
Advertisement
In general usage, the term "grammar" is a concept that is rather outside of any particular programming language. Specifically, a grammar is a formal specification of how a language is parsed by a computer - that is, how the computer breaks down the elements of the language to extract the intended meaning. It's basically the same concept as the grammar of a spoken or written language in that sense.

C++ has no concept of "grammar" in that you cannot directly specify a grammar as a native C++ concept. C++ has a grammar (i.e. a formal syntax) but does not "contain" the concept of specifying other grammars. There are notable extensions to the language via mechanisms like operator overloading, which allow you to specify grammars using C++ syntax (boost::spirit comes to mind); but this is really a sort of metaprogramming trick and has no relationship to the C++ language itself and its ability to talk about language grammars directly.

I'm curious how the book you reference uses the term in context, because it sounds to me like there's a missing piece of the puzzle in your question.

Wielder of the Sacred Wands
[Work - ArenaNet] [Epoch Language] [Scribblings]

A grammar for a programming language is the set of rules that define how you are allowed to write each piece of the source code. It's like:

"A function is written: (qualifiers) return_type function_name ( parameter_list ) function_body"

"A function_body is made up of one or more statements."