How to make my own gui using opengl and SDL and C++ or whateva? :)

Started by
14 comments, last by H3g3m0n 12 years, 7 months ago
hello im a novice at programming tired of crap and wanting to be less crap by creating things that i can work with but for me too do that i need to know where to start because everything is so dam non logical in the world of coding when theres no explanations or tutorials simplfied word by word on how to do what i want

so im assuming you want to know what i want :P

well this is it

How do i make a Graphical User interface that works ontop of OpenGL and SDL ?

no i do not want to use GLUT or freeGLUT or CEGUI or AntTweakBar

i want to make my own :)

And where did you find information on it because i cant find anything using google ("bet people do that to make it more harder for programmers") * coughs

and i dont want to hear how complex it is ,etc i just want somewhere to start that will give me anuff know how to do it for myself thanks
i really tryed hoping that i didnt have to ask but i guess theres no where else to go so

i aslo wanna state that i learn by learning word for word :) not from massive statements with comments which is just not flexible anuff imo

and ! :D i may sound like i dont know what im doing and thats because i do im guesser / reader :D it works

also i dont want to sound like im bashing just annoyed :)
Advertisement
first you need to make objects such as buttons and menus.
If you're just doing this in SDL, you can blit these to the screen and when you flip the screen they will appear.
If you're using opengl with SDL, you need to make objects/plates and display them in ortho mode.

If you don't know what I am on about, you should learn SDL and OpenGL and it will all become clear.

so i create a class with a bunch of objects in it using what win32? :) or something else what do i use

so i create a class with a bunch of objects in it using what win32? :) or something else what do i use