Java as game programming language?

Started by
10 comments, last by Arch@on 24 years, 3 months ago
Ok what do you guys think about Java as game proframming language and I don''t mean applet games that you can find from every site (Asteroids, Tetris, Tic Tac Toe, Chess) I mean real standalone games that can you combine to C++ games I studied C++ and made some games with it, after I heard Java I was very interested about it and immediatly started to study it. Now I''m at the same point when I was with C++. I have totally changed to Java, it was easier to learn to me, Real OOP is very cool thing and it makes things lots of easier than in C++, If code once, run everywhere really works I''m saved from huge amount of work and Sun is still developing it to better and faster. Of course it is slower than C++ and it doesn''t have all graphical APIs and add-ons like Direct X and OpenGL. Of course it is true that Java is still lightyears away from the speed of C++ but i think it will catch it quickly, hopefully. Ok, most of you guys are arrongant C++ fanatics who won''t even look to other languages, because C++ and Assembler are the only and the best. Yeah, right. I want hear comments from people who really know Java not just people who have heard something about it and say that it sucks.
Advertisement
quote:Original post by Arch@on

Ok what do you guys think about Java as game proframming language and I don''t mean applet games that you can find from every site (Asteroids, Tetris, Tic Tac Toe, Chess) I mean real standalone games that can you combine to C++ games

I studied C++ and made some games with it, after I heard Java I was very interested about it and immediatly started to study it. Now I''m at the same point when I was with C++. I have totally changed to Java, it was easier to learn to me, Real OOP is very cool thing and it makes things lots of easier than in C++, If code once, run everywhere really works I''m saved from huge amount of work and Sun is still