Localisation ballpark cost?

Started by
3 comments, last by Spoon Thumb 12 years, 1 month ago
I really like the idea of localising my android game. It has no audio or video but does have a lot of words (say 5000). However, I have no experience of doing any localisation before.

I want to get it done professionally and I also want to get local business partners involved to promote the game in various regions rather than just translate it, throw it out there and hope.

However, before I start getting too excited, I'd be interested if anyone has some ballpark figures for the cost of the whole process?
Android Developer for Crystalline Green
Advertisement

However, before I start getting too excited, I'd be interested if anyone has some ballpark figures for the cost of the whole process?

Here's what I do: I call a localization provider and ask them.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

For documents, I've heard a good ballpark is 75 cents/word, but I imagine it would be more for a game -- Its not just words you have to translate, it might be art that has writing on it, or it might be something more subtle, like changing the color of in-game elements as to not invoke cultural stigmas; ie, in the US, green is the color of progress, luck and wealth, while in China it's red. Here, 13 is an unlucky number, but in China, 4 is unlucky. Likewise, names of people, places and items in your game might not have a translation, but sound similar to words in the target language that have a rude connotation, or a connotation that's antithetical to the thing itself.

When you're localizing an artistic expression, its as much about localizing the experience as it is simply the words.

throw table_exception("(? ???)? ? ???");

I'm a project manager for a translation provider. We'd be happy to get in touch with you and get you a competitive quote for the translation side. We have done mobile apps and game localization in the past.