How to use Visual Studio

Started by
9 comments, last by Daivam 22 years, 6 months ago
Hiya.. I''m completely new to programming. My girlfriend gave me her copy of Visual Studio 6, and I''ve been playing with it a little. Knowing absolutely nothing seems to be hindering me a bit though. I read thru some of the sections of gamedev.net particularly the absolute beginner section, but am still confused about a few things. My goal is be able to program graphically advanced windows games in C++. So I figure the first step along this path is learning C or C++. From the basic just of the information I''ve received from this site, it seems I should just go ahead and learn C++, the only problem being so many of the books about C++ build off of a knowledge of C or atleast Basic Programming Principles it seems. I''ve already ordered copies of Who''s Afraid of C++ and Who''s Afraid of More C++, which should arrive in a month or so. Nothing in the world is slower than book rate mail. ''( Since I don''t know if I''m that patient, I''m contemplating getting either the Absolute Beginners guide to C, Waite''s C++ Primer Plus, or Beginning Visual C++ 6. All of them seem to have fairly good reviews, but I''m not sure which would be more appropriate. A book on C to get the very basics, a book on basic C++, or perhaps the Visual C++ book so that I might learn a little bit about my newfound compiler. What do you guys think? Which also brings me to my next question. What do you reccomend to learn how to use the Visual C++ compiler itself? I can''t seem to make heads or tails of the help file. I''m not even sure how to start the right type of file if I wanted to create a C program. I''m lost in a maze of options, any help or a pointer to a tutorial on the compiler itself would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Advertisement
I''m just like you, also a compleet newbie who would like to make window-games