can I switch texture withing a triangle_strip?

Started by
4 comments, last by 21st Century Moose 11 years ago

Hi,

I am still a noob w/ GL and I couldn't find an answer to this yet.

short version:

Assume I have 2 adjacent triangles which could be represented with Strip ABCD. Is it possible that ABC refere to a different texture than BCD?

long version:

Scenario: I have a tile based terrain. It will by split into smaller n*n pieces. Everything is more or less in x*y and I consider it "2d". Such an n*n piece will have one big texture which I want to compose of smaller tile textures (dirt, grass, ...) using render to texture (haven't done this yet)

Now I want to go 2.5d and add different height levels and cliffs. So between tiles of different level there will be another quad in x*z or y*z plane. For those I want to use another texture (rock wall or something ...) .

Currently I have created the triangle strip without texturing. For performance reasons I want to do everything in one strip. But now I am not sure if I can switch texture in between ....

thx n rgds

tmg

Advertisement

Yes, it's possible. One option is to combine all the smaller tile textures into one big texture, and then just have each triangle reference the right portion of the large texture. Another option is to use multitexturing, but might make your shaders and draw calls a bit more complicated.

[size=2][ I was ninja'd 71 times before I stopped counting a long time ago ] [ f.k.a. MikeTacular ] [ My Blog ] [ SWFer: Gaplessly looped MP3s in your Flash games ]

Like cornstalks said, the best option for your scenario is to put all the tiny textures into a single texture (like a tile sheet), and simply use texture coordinates to refer to the part texture you want to use.

If you were thinking about using glBindTexture() inside the glBegin() glEnd() pair, i don't think it's valid,

If you were thinking about using glBindTexture() inside the glBegin() glEnd() pair, i don't think it's valid,