Are most mobile apps boring and redundant or is it just me?

Started by
25 comments, last by jwezorek 10 years, 11 months ago

I've been trying to come up with something to implement in order to learn Objective-C/ iOS development. Basically the only iOS development I've done has been the game I'm working on which is on top of cocos2d-x and as such is in C++ with Objective-C complelely hidden from me, but I've started getting the feeling that I should actually learn Objective-C; otherwise, it might end up biting me in the ass down the line. Also wouldn't mind being able to start sniffing around at getting an iOS development job (I have a lot of experience developing software on other platforms so I think just getting a couple of apps in the app store with my name on them would be enough to be taken seriously)

Anyway, I kind of want to come up with an idea for a normal iOS app, i.e. a non-game app. Trouble is, I realize now, I don't actually use a lot of apps beyond the obvious things from the big players (e.g. Gmail, maps, etc.) so I have been looking through lots of lists of best or most useful iOS Apps. I am struck by the extent to which most of the apps I see listed do not interest me at all and don't seem particularly useful to me.

1. I don't care about taking notes/having a journal/blah blah blah
  2. I don't care about some company's new yet-another feed aggregator. I know where to find the content I like; I don't really look at facebook much anymore and if I feel the desire I can, you know, look at facebook.
  3. I don't care about yet-another to-do list app.
  4. I don't care about yet-another calendar app.
  5. I don't care about yet-another way to share x with my friends