OpenGL ES 2.0: Point light optimisation

Started by
9 comments, last by marcClintDion 10 years, 11 months ago

Hey devs!

I've been working on a OpenGL ES 2.0 android engine and I have begun implementing some simple (point) lighting. I had something fairly simple working, so I tried to get fancy and added color-tinting light. And it works great... with only one or two lights. Any more than that, the application drops about 15 frames per light added (my ideal is at least 4 or 5). I know implementing lighting is expensive, I just didn't think it was that expensive. I'm fairly new to the world of OpenGL and GLSL, so there is a good chance I've written some crappy shader code. If anyone had any feedback or tips on how I can optimize this code, please let me know.

Vertex Shader

uniform mat4 u_MVPMatrix;		
    uniform mat4 u_MVMatrix;			  
    attribute vec4 a_Position;		
    attribute vec3 a_Normal;	
    attribute vec2 a_TexCoordinate;
    varying vec3 v_Position;	
    varying vec3 v_Normal;		          			
    varying vec2 v_TexCoordinate;	

void main()	{
        v_Position = vec3(u_MVMatrix * a_Position);		     	
        v_TexCoordinate = a_TexCoordinate;		
        v_Normal = vec3(u_MVMatrix * vec4(a_Normal, 0.0));
        gl_Position = u_MVPMatrix * a_Position;	
}                             		

Fragment Shader

precision mediump float;
uniform vec4 u_LightPos["+numLights+"];
uniform vec4 u_LightColours["+numLights+"];
uniform float u_LightPower["+numLights+"];
uniform sampler2D u_Texture;
varying vec3 v_Position;
varying vec3 v_Normal;
varying vec2 v_TexCoordinate;

void main()
{
   gl_FragColor = (texture2D(u_Texture, v_TexCoordinate));
   float diffuse = 0.0;
   vec4 colourSum = vec4(1.0);
   for (int i = 0; i < "+numLights+"; i++) {
   	vec3 toPointLight = vec3(u_LightPos);
   	float distance = length(toPointLight - v_Position);
   	vec3 lightVector = normalize(toPointLight - v_Position);