🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

What's the best way to learn?

Started by
9 comments, last by Satharis 10 years, 8 months ago

Personally I learn very fast on computers as I have been studying java over the internet for about 3 months. I know that I'm new to the language but I'm wondering if it's worth it. Seriously like can I get a job as a java game programmer? what most people are saying to me is to learn c++ but I don't want to because I haven't learned java and I don't want to ditch it. Anyways, my point is that I'm in grade 10 and wondering what the best way to learn java game programming. I don't really like watching video's because all you have to do is copy code and listen to the same stuff over and over and the youtube videos are split up into so many videos it gets annoying. So if you know java and have known it for a while please reply to this topic and tell me how you learned best. I have a java book but it's mostly on C++ and only the last chapter is on java. Honestly I think I should buy a new one... If you know any books on java game programming please post a link because I want to get so good at java I can program a 3d game by myself and a designer. My future goal is to make a working multiplayer game like minecraft or runescape. Thanks for spending the time to read this post and have a great day!

spkbup.png

^this was my first game in java... :/

Advertisement
The good news is that you have at least two years before you really need to look for a programming job. Most people will not hire people in high school, is the sad truth of it.

I'd stick with Java for at least a year and then learn C++ as well. That way, if a job calls for one or the other, you have both. And correct me if I'm wrong, but there are jobs that call for Java.