Using a Notepad in Industry to keep track of modified code

Started by
21 comments, last by swiftcoder 10 years, 5 months ago

Is that common to have a programmer have a notepad in front of him/her keep track of code that was modified (ie: list before and after code comparison, line location from the IDE)?

I figure if someone modifies something, there might be a chance something else might break in a different area of the program. So this would be a good way to revert the issue.

I never worked in the industry. I am still a CS undergraduate but I was curious about whether or not this is actually how it works in industry.

Advertisement
There's a whole set of software tools known as version control (or "revision control") which solve this problem far more powerfully than doing it by hand.

Wielder of the Sacred Wands
[Work - ArenaNet] [Epoch Language] [Scribblings]

Yeah use software to track changes (also called source control). I'm surprised they don't teach you about that in uni. SVN and SourceSafe are 2 I have used in the past (Git has been mentioned too, not used it).

I'm a firm believer in notepads though, notepads don't crash and lose your data. Best notepads are hardbound and you can't rip pages out. Always keep your old notepads. It's also best to date each entry. (Not "sexy time" date, calendar date).

EDIT: Biggest problem with notepads is illegible writing ;)

"Most people think, great God will come from the sky, take away everything, and make everybody feel high" - Bob Marley

I usually have a notepad for task lists, scribbling down ideas / solving problems, and explaining things to people visually (but no, not for line numbers / change logs).