two topics I'd like to acquire help on

Started by
9 comments, last by ShiftyCake 10 years, 5 months ago

So I'm looking into really starting to game design, as I self-learned everything I know. What I'm really searching for is some articles or other various places to access in order to help me.

I'd first like to get to know general game design better, not anything specific but rather an overall view on game design and what it's about.

The second thing I'd like to research is game design documents. I've seen various different ones, and I'm finding many conflicted views and ideas in them. Can you give me personal recommendations?

this is where I'd like to start, I'd appreciate the help.

If, at any point, what I post is hard to understand, tell me. I am bad at projecting my thoughts into real words, so I appreciate the knowledge that I need to edit my post.

I am not a professional writer, nor a professional game designer. Please, understand that everything you read is simply an opinion of mind and should not, at any point in time, be taken as a credible answer unless validated by others.

Advertisement

I'd first like to get to know general game design better, not anything specific but rather an overall view on game design and what it's about.

Some links:

Lost Garden

The Designer's Notebook

Extra Credits

Sloperama

The second thing I'd like to research is game design documents.

The general consensus is that there isn't any one template or design to be universally followed; different projects and different teams require different information, and any layout and contents that provides all the necessary information and gets the job done is a good one.

Tom Sloper provides a possible outline you might use as a starting point, and links to a number of examples by different designers down the bottom.

- Jason Astle-Adams

Can you give me personal recommendations?