Network-attached-storage and surge protection

Started by
16 comments, last by haegarr 10 years, 3 months ago

Hey all. I'm needing some more storage space for backing up data.

I'd like something that isn't a direct part of my computer, but can be read/written to by the PC I use and the family laptops, so I was thinking a NAS hooked up to the wireless router I already have would be a good idea.

I was thinking of getting one of these NAS devices:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B004UBU3SY/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pd_S_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=ABFXSVNT1RI5&coliid=I20K4OR2OAGMQL

And two of these drives:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0088PUEPK/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=ABFXSVNT1RI5&coliid=I2JWIUT9Y6D4JT

...with that data duplicated between the two drives (RAID 1? I've never done this before) incase one fails.

A) What do you think of that device? The Amazon reviews seem decent enough.

B) Does that device support those harddrives?

I think it does - but the harddrives I think are SATA 3, where the NAS device only supports SATA 1 & 2 - but SATA 3 is backwards compatible. So am I compatible here?

C) Seeing that it'll be plugged into the wall, and plugged into the router by CAT5 (or whatever it is) - what do I need to do to protect it from, say, lightning strikes, blackouts, or power surges? Do blackouts pose any risk of killing/damaging the entire harddrive?

D) How do I know when one drive of the RAID-1 pair fails?

Advertisement

There's always a very slim possibility that there will be a compatibility issue between a particular drive and a particular NAS, but it's very unlikely, and sticking with a popular brand drive like WD makes it extremely unlikely.