• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
buttnakedhippie

Newbie here!: Looking for good Game Dev sites/book to start with

This topic is 2066 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm looking to start out with small games that I could maybe end up publishing to the Play Store/App Store. I would REALLY appreciate any suggested starting points with reading materials, different software to try, anything!

I took a short Computer Programming class my senior year of high school, but it didn't focus on much, and it was only one semester. We first covered a bit of HTML, then Kudo, Alice, and lastly, and very briefly, JavaScript.

Advertisement

+1 to Unity - not only does it let you publish to iOS/Google Play, but also PC, OS X, Linux...you name it. 

Also, apart from C# and 'JavaScript' (it's really UnityScript), you can also use visual scripting tools like Playmaker to get around the code side of things and still make complete games.

Edited by gheeDough

Well, to be fair, I was thinking that mobile games would be an easier start and also just a way for me to publish games when I'm finished with them. That's what drives me to want to make them. If this really isn't the case (it being slightly easier) then I might as well start out with what I'm working towards, which is getting into the industry of game development.

If I was planning on familiarizing myself with Unity3D, where would I learn about object scripts, models, textures, and shaders? Since I'm not very knowledgeable about it, should I stick with a basic program for now?

I don't have any languages that interest me specifically, because I haven't spent much time studying up on them. I've seen a lot about c++ being used and I always figured I'd start with that one, but I've recently heard that a language called Python is something people are using now.