DirectX detecting highest MSAA supported

Started by
0 comments, last by spyter 10 years, 2 months ago

I am relatively new to game programming and I have been following some tutorials online for setting up a game window, game loop and initializing the required directx components in order to start drawing some meshes and textures to the screen. I have all of it working, except I am having issues with detecting MSAA levels. At some point I would like to offer different settings but for now I am just trying to detect the highest MSAA supported and set that on the swap chain.

I'm sure this is a simple feat but below is what I am having trouble with. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

...other initialization code here....

....create a device...

...declare a swap chain....

swapChainDescription.SampleDesc.Quality = 0;

if (m_configuration->EnableMSAA)
{
UINT sampleCount = GetMaxMSAASupport();

swapChainDescription.SampleDesc.Count = sampleCount;
}
else
{
swapChainDescription.SampleDesc.Count = 1;
}

Basically if msaa bool is not enabled, it defaults to 0 quality/1 sample count. Otherwise it will use 0 quality and attempt to detect the max sample count.

Below is the code for the GetMaxMSAASupport() function:

UINT Direct3d::GetMaxMSAASupport()
{
UINT maxQualityLevel = 0;

for (UINT sampleCount = D3D11_MAX_MULTISAMPLE_SAMPLE_COUNT; sampleCount > 0; sampleCount /= 2)
{
if (SUCCEEDED(m_device->CheckMultisampleQualityLevels(DXGI_FORMAT_R8G8B8A8_UNORM, sampleCount, &maxQualityLevel) && 
maxQualityLevel <= 0))
{
return sampleCount;
}
}
}

When I run the above, it is returning 32 MSAA (max), which my card does not support. My card only goes up to x16. Something is off in my GetMaxMSAASupport function but I am not sure what.

Also, is quality always supposed to be 0? Does it have a ratio to sample count? I have been all over the internet but I havent found any "good" explanations on this or examples.

Thanks in advance!!!!

Advertisement