why c++ is the most widely used language for professional game development?

Started by
34 comments, last by jpetrie 9 years, 9 months ago

Most professional game engines like Unreal, Cryengine etc. uses C++ . Why c++ is the best language for game development. I want to ask the question as i want to be a professional game programmer in future and the answer will motivate me to learn more and more c++ in future. Please tell me is it really a good idea to be a expert in c++ for the sake of getting a job as a game developer. I know java and bit of C# , should i learn c++ in more in depth ? and what engine should i use in future? Currently i think it will be a good idea to use unity, as i'm a beginner. Thanks a lot, i really need your advise.

Advertisement

Most people using C++ does it because they have no choice. C++ is an old beast with tons of cumbersome issues, it's just that there are compilers for every single platform ever, so if you want to support every single platform ever (tm), then your only realistic choice is C++. Most engines etc are written in C++ but incorporate some form of scripting language which can then be used for the creation of the actual games.

I think the main reason is that C++ is low level programing language with OOP supported, because it's such low level you are less restricted, and with less restrictions you have more power to manipulate things... Also very good thing is that you have direct access to computer memory

Learning C++ won't be waste of time for sure.smile.png

As stated above, C++ is available for pretty much any platform you write games on. Most importantly, MS's, Sony's, and Nintendo's consoles all support C++ and rarely support anything else. (MS supported a stripped-down version of .NET on the 360 for XNA, but I'm not aware of any other examples)

Also, there is a ton of old legacy code written in C/C++ that would take a lot of time and testing (and more importantly, money) to convert to any other language.