C++ files organisation

Started by
11 comments, last by BitMaster 9 years, 9 months ago

I have been coding C++ for more than a year now and I just realized that the way I package my project is very different from how all the C++ open source projects package their projects.
Most of the C++ projects package in such a way that it looks like this

project
|_ include
|_ src

while I usually store them in deep folder structures.
project
|_folder A
|_ sub folder A
|_ sub folder B
|_ folder B

When I learn a language, I want to embrace it fully and not just use it like another language. But before I migrate some of my projects, I thought I asked, what are the advantages/disadvantages to doing either way ? I know my way probably came from back when I just started programming and Java has a really deep folder structure. Do anyone do the same as I ?

Check out my blog at zwodahs.github.io and zwodahs.itch.io/

Advertisement

Putting header files into a include folder has the advantage that you have all interfaces to your modules in a single place, like /usr/include and /usr/local/include on UNIX style systems. To make the software available to others, maybe as a library gives you a more simple way to find the header files to the libraries.

But at the end I suspect that it is up to your personal feeling about how to handle header files.