Learning programming well

Started by
22 comments, last by alh420 8 years, 11 months ago

Hi,

I am pretty new to programming. I have some Java and some VB skills, but just some. I am planning to learn programming not just for a crap game. I want to learn programming with the aim of programming a nice game. I am 15 and I am also thinking of doing programming as a job when I am some older ;)

So I thought of learning a nice language, I think this will be C#, but for a 3d Game I think I need a game engine, too for a 3d game. I am thinking of Unity, but I am not sure if this isnt a waste of time? I dont think I will will need that any time later again... just some experience I get might be good. But creating 3d games without a gaming engine isnt really possible, right?
So summarized my questions are:

-Do I need a game engine and wich is a good one for not just learing for wasting time?

-How do I learn a programming language well? With a book? Internet tutorials? And is a big book "enough"? I think there is much experience I need too, but I dont think a book is enough, but there is mostly just one book, and how should I know, what book to use next, for a good connection to my knowledge I got from the other book?

Thank you for any answers :)

Advertisement

http://www.gamedev.net/page/reference/faq.php/_/for-beginners-r1

And never stop coding.

"Don't gain the world and lose your soul. Wisdom is better than silver or gold." - Bob Marley

But creating 3d games without a gaming engine isnt really possible, right?

Wrong. You can make 3D games without "engines" like Unity. It will take you a lot more time to learn how, though. Unity provides you a solid foundation on which you can build a lot of your own gameplay code without having to deal with annoying stuff like basic rendering fundamentals and all that.

Unity would be a good choice, especially if you're going to learn C# as well. It's not a waste of time.