handling data/state in a board game - composition/coupling

Started by
9 comments, last by Mussi 8 years, 5 months ago

I'm pretty new to gamedev and I'm starting to make more complex games, but handling the growing amount of data, classes and functions, while still trying to use best design-practices, is proving tricky!

Hypothetically, say I want to make a version of the board game "monopoly". In very pseudo-code (I'm using C++ but this probably applies to other languages), I'd try to model the data showing the current state of the game like this:

class Board {
private:
    container<Square> squares; //board locations to land on. Square is a base class
                               //from which classes like Property, Station inherit
    container<ChanceCard> chanceCards;
    container<CommChestCard> commChestCards;
    Bank bank; //to begin, bank owns all Deed objects, which are linked to Property squares
    unsigned freeParkingMoney; //amount of money in the center of the board
                               //that you win by landing on free parking
    //etc..
};

class Player {
private:
    string name;
    unsigned money;
    Token token; //hat, iron, shoe ...
    container<Deed> ownedDeeds;
    //etc
};

class GameData {
private:
    Board board;
    container<Player> players;
    Dice dice;
    Player* activePlayer;
};

Rather than having a huge class with all the states in, GameData, I've tried to use modularity and break things up into sub-parts, using composition. (There are some missing class definitions of course, this is just a sketch.) This is all separate from the game's rendering / state stack / gameloop / input handling etc.

The problem with this comes when a player wants to take some action in the game. For example, say I wanted the current player to buy a property deed using the function buyDeed().

1. How does it access all the data it needs?