What does a C++ Programmer need to get the job?

Started by
14 comments, last by coope 8 years ago

I graduated from a community college almost a year ago, but I didn't earn any sort of degree. It was a program meant to teach game development, which awarded certificates for completion.

I learned a lot of C++ in and out of class while there. I have built a portfolio with a handful of projects I worked on while there, and I am working on an actual complete *polished* game to add to it all. I'm worried though that this will not be enough.

I don't have any degree in computer science, which I see a lot of the jobs I am interested in require.

So what should I teach myself, create, or do in order to succeed?

Another problem is that I live on the east coast of Canada. Any studio I've found thus far works with Unity, unless I start looking at Montreal. Without a good job I can't really afford to move far, so I am not sure what to do there either. There are so many other people around that are much better in Unity than I am. I can get the work done in Unity, but I am almost sure that I don't always find the fastest solutions to code (as far as architecture is concerned).

Should I focus myself on learning Unity better than I do so I can get a local job I hate just so I can save the money I need to relocate to places with jobs more suited to me?

Advertisement

I graduated from a community college almost a year ago, but I didn't earn any sort of degree. It was a program meant to teach game development, which awarded certificates for completion.

I learned a lot of C++ in and out of class while there. I have built a portfolio with a handful of projects I worked on while there, and I am working on an actual complete *polished* game to add to it all. I'm worried though that this will not be enough.

I don't have any degree in computer science, which I see a lot of the jobs I am interested in require.