I fell in love with Unity: Where do I go from here?

Started by
5 comments, last by ninja_pat 7 years, 10 months ago

Hi there, my name is Redouane, I am currently finishing up my second year in Computing. This year, we had a project where we had to make a Marble Madness remake in Unity. had 0 experience in game development and to make a 3D game with minimal experience seemed very intimidating at first. However, I was greatly mistaken! Unity was super easy to get the hang of, and to successfully advance on my project.

With that said, I would like to create a personal project in Unity. It has always been my dream to create a management/tycoon/business sim game, and I think that it will be possible with Unity. Now, I am still not an expert with Unity/C# (obviously), but I do believe that with this project I can greatly increase my experience for future projects.

Now comes the dilemma. I don't know how to design nor do I know any designers. My Marble Madness game was feasible because it required a minimal graphical interface, however, I would like to make a game with slightly more advanced graphics (Such as Game Dev Tycoon).

To summarize, my question is, do I need experience with design to make a a graphical interface like that of Game Dev Tycoon? Or will content packs from the Unity store suffice?

Advertisement

Yes, good tools help quite a lot, and can convert parts of development from drudgery into a joy. (Bad tools, conversely, can eat away at you and drive you to insanity.)

If someone has created the content that matches your style and placed it on the store, and if you are wiling to buy it for what they charge, then the store is sufficient.

Otherwise you will need to build it yourself, buy it from elsewhere, or pay someone to build it for you.

Note that you don't have to find the final art now, just some temporary art would work too for making the game.
Once you have something up&running, you can consider how to construct the final art.