After being an indie game developer I begin to doubt myself

Started by
25 comments, last by ronan.thibaudau 7 years, 6 months ago

Hi,everybody, I am an indie game developer from china. I build an indie game studio with my friend.I work as the only programmer and my friend works as game artist. We design the game ourself, there is no game design documents,when we need some feature we just discuss it and then work it out.We do this work as fulltime job,the game studio has been run about 6 months, but we only release a game : "Tap dragon".

We first release it to google play store, but we only get 10-30 installs per day. A week later we release the iOS version on appstore , the same situation appears. We earn no more than $500 per month. We don't known how to do the marketing, so the game keeps have very small installs. I have no idea what wrong with this game.

Is it a garbage game or we lose at the marketing? We need to earn money for life, raise kids, we began to doubt myself.I need your help, here is the link of my game, would you please try it and tell me whether the game is too awful or just the marketing problem. thank you very much.

Sorry , my english is not good, hope your guys can understand what I mean.

Google Play : https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.lexinyou.game.dragon

AppStore: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/dragon-gogo-tap-dragon-game/id1118834435?ls=1&mt=8

Advertisement

The game itself has a good rating. So i think it's not the game :)

I think marketing is your main weakness.

Did you do those presentations in other game forums? This would help increase spreading your notification "around the world".

500 bucks per month, with your first game is not bad at all in my opinion.

Work on your marketing and it should work. :)

Good luck!

The game itself has a good rating. So i think it's not the game :)

I think marketing is your main weakness.