Game Development Process - Start to Finish

Started by
5 comments, last by Norman Barrows 7 years, 7 months ago

This my first post here actually.

Just a short background about me, I'm a programmer and project manager with absolutely no game development experience. I've been wanting to build a game for a long time now yet never had the time for a hobby project. Recently, my schedule cleared up a bit and I'm looking to finally get into it.

My question is, from a big picture standpoint, what are the specific, actionable steps that go into building a game, start to finish? The reason I'm asking is that I would like to have some kind of frame or "road-map" that I can go by in a linear fashion, perhaps some guidelines to keep me on track. I'd imagine the steps would be something like:

1. Come up with concept.

2. Write game design document.

3. Build POC

etc...

I'd love to hear an answer from someone more experienced! Thanks :)

Advertisement

what are the specific, actionable steps that go into building a game, start to finish

The only constant specific step is "make the game" - every team I've worked on, and every project, has done it differently.

What I will say is the following:

• for pro studios, the development team rarely come up with the base concept
  • I've never seen a game design document finished before code work began (although sometimes a simple 'pitch' doc exists, which is the baseline for further docs, and for code work)
  • a proof of concept is sometimes a prototype (bare-bones demonstration of mechanics) and sometimes a 'vertical slice' (essentially the full game but lacking 90% of the content), and sometimes you make one, sometimes you make the other, sometimes you make neither
  • almost all gamedev teams operate some sort of agile development process, whether they think they are or not, whether they want to or not, which means the roadmap does not survive contact with the journey