Sign in to follow this  

What type of frameworks are more popular games using?

This topic is 384 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a beginner programmer and I was trying to figure out how I should go about making a game or two. Are games like Dangerous Adventure 2 or Elephant Quest made with flash or html5? Looking at the DA2 source it looks like it might be flash.

I was leaning toward html5 because I have experience with javascript. Any advice helps, thanks.
Edited by SophiaL

I have no idea about Dangerous Adventure 2 or Elephant Quest, but many browser games are made with flash because either when the development started the developers didn't regard html5 as mature enough, or the companies have many ActionScript developers and don't want to retrain them. Taking into account how eager are the major browsers to drop support for Flash, I would advise to use html5 instead, regardless of whatever big companies do. Also, not that many years ago, html5 was yet immature for many types of games, but that has changed recently. For what is worth, at my previous employer we switched from flash to html5 more than 3 years ago.

In your post you only mention html5 or flash, but since you ask for frameworks on your title, you can take a look at Phaser or Pixi.js.

Edited by Avalander

If you are comfortable with flash and you like it - you should use it. Additionally as far as I know The Adobe Flash supports exporting as a HTML + JS so technically you could develop in flash but export as HTML + JS,

Flash runs fine on ios devices when deployed with air as an app and also works on android devices, they have just released support for apple tv too. Thousands of successful games are built this way.

A game I saw recently that looked similar to the first title you posted is made with flash/air.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPA120SfpXU