• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
LifeIsGood

Unity Modern Programming Language for Game Engines

This topic is 680 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey, I just found this forum so I'm pretty new here.

First at all, let me introduce myself real quick.

I'm not a beginner. I'm a relatively experienced game programmer.
I've started programming games around 6 years ago, spending 5 years with Unity & C#.

I just hope to get some advice from some Guru's.

Just to have it mentioned, I don't plan to compete with engines like Unity, Unreal or CryEngine, I just want to start writing my own engine for fun & learning purpose.

In fact, I already made a few early experiences with DirectX & some basic drawing based on WindowsForms using C#.

But, I'm just not sure which language I want to use.

I love C#, but I worked for 5 years with it, so learning something new seems to be a good idea to me.

Here are some Languages I took a few looks at:

-> C++ (of course)

I messed around a little in C++, mostly writing Console Applications, but also trying some stuff in the CryEngine & I'm not going to argue the facts, C++ is for a reason one of the most used languages for game programming, but, coming from C# & just looking at the style of the language, C++ seems to be a little outdated to me. Just all the combinations of operators & keywords like "const" make me feel like "Do I really want to use this language ?", it doesn't seem to be that much of fun for me.

-> F# (a little surprising, I guess :D)