SEEKING YOUR ADVICE: COMPOSER FOR GAMES

Started by
1 comment, last by Tom Sloper 7 years, 1 month ago

Hi everyone,

My name is Jon, long time lurker, first time poster!

I’m a composer based in Melbourne and just starting out - my focus is writing immersive interactive music for games. I was hoping to get some advice / guidance from you.

I’ve put together a website (www.jonforest.com.au) with a few samples of my music but I’m not entirely sure where to go from here.

What are things that you look for when hiring a composer to make music for your games?

My point of difference is to make a unique and customised piece of music for games that really “pops” over using “stock” sounds that anyone/everyone has access to? So, what would make you hire a composer like me over using stock websites like www.musicbed.com/ that provide cheap or free effects / music etc?

If anyone has any feedback or suggestions it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Jon

Advertisement

Speaking as a composer - instead of someone who regularly hires one - I know that one of the biggest perks to using a composer instead of library music is the ability to have a red thread woven into a game's soundtrack. This can either be a melodic figure (or figures) that gets used and quoted throughout a score or even just the sonic fingerprint of a score. It's much harder - if not impossible - to get that with library music that was written with regard to other library tracks and created by many different people.

Plus working with a composer allows for collaboration whereas buying library music means you're stuck with whatever you've purchased. For better or worse.

Nathan Madsen
Nate (AT) MadsenStudios (DOT) Com
Composer-Sound Designer
Madsen Studios
Austin, TX

What are things that you look for when hiring a composer

Speaking as a composer - instead of someone who regularly hires one

Exactly. In this forum, the readers are mostly those who create music and sound.