deltaKshatriya

Geometry vs Texturing in Game Art

deltaKshatriya    2210

Hey all,

So although I've posted some stuff here for critique, by and large, I'm not really a CG artist who does stuff for games. To be fair, even CG art is primarily a side hobby for me. But anyhow, back on topic. One of the things I've noticed is that for general CG art, we generally prefer to use as much geometry as possible for building a scene, since we don't really care much about render time. For example, sometimes bricks will be modeled in to fully utilize the lighting calculations and what not. Now obviously, with game dev, that just isn't true, and I do have experience with this. What I've noticed, however, is that game art in many games (Dark Souls, etc.) really does seem to look like it's using a ton of geometry, especially with architecture. Now I can tell where textures are used, but I'm curious, what's the balance for geometry vs texture? When is a texture preferred to modeling geometry? 

I thought this would be interesting discussion. 

Hodgman    51336
1 minute ago, deltaKshatriya said:

For example, sometimes bricks will be modeled in to fully utilize the lighting calculations and what not. Now obviously, with game dev, that just isn't true, and I do have experience with this. What I've noticed, however, is that game art in many games (Dark Souls, etc.) really does seem to look like it's using a ton of geometry, especially with architecture. Now I can tell where textures are used, but I'm curious, what's the balance for geometry vs texture? When is a texture preferred to modeling geometry? 

Often you do model everything in excessive detail, down to cracks in bricks, first. Then, second you make a lower detailed mesh with the same general shape (a flat wall that covers all the bricks). Third, you "bake" all the geometric details from mesh #1 onto normal/depth/ao textures for use on mesh #2.