Starting from (nearly) absolute zero

Started by
10 comments, last by Scouting Ninja 6 years, 5 months ago

After my first thread and some painful deleting AND some lengthy drive resizing, I now have Unity and Visual Studio Enterprise

As the hype of me finally being able to make a game that I've always dreamed of faded away because of school schedule being a douchebag, I came to a painful realization that I basically don't know anything about Unity (making progress at least, with the tutorial, the rest....well....I don't have a credit card yet, and my age is 2^4 + 1 (don't wanna be too....public)) nor C# (hopefully dotnetcademy.net's C# course for complete beginners can somehow help me with this).

At least I know what I am doing (I guess) with my game: 2D, Top down, Isometric, Pixel Art (because I'm on my own and I can't draw like an artist and I'm too broke), RPG with EXP, Class Advancement system and probably some sort of a seeding mechanism for randomized gameplay

So, as a complete greenhorn stepping into the field with a completely wrong set of equipments, I'd love some advices from the pros and the experienced (all advices are welcomed OwO)/ ), esp to these questions:

- Should I take on regular C# and then learn Unity C# or skip regular C# and straight to Unity C#?
- Is pixel art really a way out for me on the visual part? Sprites, maps, items, effects, etc......
- Is my idea okay? Is there anything I can add in or cross out?
- Should I do this alone? Or should I get some accomplices? I'm not planning to rush it anyway.

Spoiler

- Am I a bit too young to be doing this?

Thank you in advance. Sorry, no potato this time

Welp. Sh-t.

Advertisement

Nobody mentioned Visual Studio Enterprise on your original thread so I've no idea where that rant came from. Keep it polite, please.