I Need An Older Open World Engine

Started by
39 comments, last by Scouting Ninja 6 years, 2 months ago

i am looking for an engine that could create games like oblivion or morrowind. I have 2 years of java coding experience and along with that months of gml experience and months of c++ coding. I would like to create a that would look and play close to those games and would be an open world with a relatively big world. I need suggestions for this?

Advertisement

Couldn't you just make a TC (total conversion) mod for oblivion?  IIRC I know its possible in Skyrim,, don't know/recall anything about oblivion.  Scratch that... just did a quick search and there are TC mods for oblivion.

-potential energy is easily made kinetic-

i am not looking to create a mod but a game of my own i just need an engine that create a game like or at least mechanics like morrowind or oblivion that is older. (mainly because my pc is pretty bad) But also because i enjoy the look and play of them. Regardless i just need an engine itself to start i can't run unreal engine, cryengine. unity and game maker isn't worth it. I am not interested in modding but i don't even own them for pc anyway.

4 hours ago, Dusty Cane said:

i am not looking to create a mod but a game of my own

That's why I said a Total conversion mod... the only reason against this would be if you wanted to sell your game.  But a TC mod can use your own assets, game rules, story... and so on.  You can also use stuff from the base game either for real or placeholder art.

4 hours ago, Dusty Cane said:

(mainly because my pc is pretty bad)

One, what are your PC specs?  CPU, RAM, Video card.  Also just so you know developer machines tend to be more powerful than the machines used to run the game.

Oblivion used an engine called Gamebryo... its not free and might not even be for sale anymore.