Was it a mistake to develop my own engine?

Started by
14 comments, last by AlexKay 6 years, 3 months ago

So I've been working on-and-off for several years on my hobby project.  The project is around 90% complete.  It includes a game, a level editor, as well as a general tool for adding/modifying game objects and mechanics.  The engine also supports plug-ins that allow new functionality to be added via DLL's.

Although I'm happy with what I've accomplished so far, I sometimes have this nagging feeling that I could've accomplished everything so much quicker if I'd used Unity or Unreal instead of starting from scratch with C++.

There were a few factors to my choice:

My biggest concern was uncertainty that an existing engine would give me the flexibility to do everything I wanted, especially the level editor and engine tools.  I think it's fair to say that engines like Unity and Unreal are proven for developing games, but it's not clear to me if this also applies for non-gaming applications like level editors?  The tools are a very important aspect of my project because one of the primary objectives is to encourage creativity in players, including non-programmers (ideally, I want the level editor to be accessible enough that even a child can use it).

I also had some concerns over how much control I'd have over the precise functionality of an game itself.  For example, collision detection is usually talked about in terms of cuboids and spheres, but this wouldn't have allowed me to get the exact feel I wanted in my game, and I have no idea how much leeway an engine like Unity would give me to customise something like that.

I'd hate to invest months in learning an engine only to find that it can't do something I need.