13 years and counting: Sometimes I feel like I'm never going to finish my game

Started by
11 comments, last by Martin Brentnall 5 years, 10 months ago

The game began life in 2005 as a simple OpenGL learning exercise to render a static game scene, just to see if I could do it.  The result was satisfying, and a desire to create more scenes fuelled the development of a crude editing tool, which was quickly followed by the creation of a complete game map.

Not wanting the map to go to waste, I started adding gameplay elements and logic to turn it into an actual game: player character, enemies, physics, collision detection, game logic, etc..  I didn't have much game development experience, but as a CS student, I was able figure out most of what I needed to do.  By 2006 I expected to release the finished game and map editor within a year.

2007 went by and my expectation proved to be overambitious.  I was still getting to grips with good C++ practices, design patterns, OpenGL, etc., let alone wrapping my head around physics and collision detection.  Performance was another issue; many optimisations were necessary to achieve an acceptable framerate during gameplay.

By 2009, the project began to resemble a playable game, if only for the few seconds that it lasted before something inevitably went haywire:  The player character glitched through map geometry, wandered along invisible surfaces that shouldn't exist, or the game just froze or crashed outright.  The project was a mess and I was struggling to make it work.

Aside from the game itself, the map editor hadn't been developed much beyond the crude editor from 2005.  As a child, I loved level editors, so giving players a creativity tool felt like a vital aspect of the project, but there was still much to be done if that were to happen.