Struggling to fill 3D city themed game

Started by
8 comments, last by MidnightPacific 5 years, 5 months ago

Hey guys. Looking for some advice in regards to asset production/generation. I've been developing a game in my spare time - www.kanshicity.com - which is themed around finding characters in a Tokyo inspired city (not really pure cyberpunk, just inspired by the city as it is today). I've been developing it myself and I'm primarily a programmer. I've been using Blender to create fairly simple buildings which when placed together with lighting and some blurring suggest more detail than there is which is a nice effect.

My problem is that it just takes so long to fill a level out which really eats at my motivation. Say a level needs 100 buildings, depending on the complexity I spend 1-2 hours per buildings so that's 100 levels but I can only work on my game 1-2 hours a night.

I'm looking for suggestions I could look at for producing my content more quickly? I'm not in the position to hire someone. I'm thinking perhaps some kind of procedural generator might help but I've never tried that before.

Thanks

Advertisement

Do you need all buildings to be unique?  If so, how unique do they have to be?  Can you take a building, move some parts around, and call it a new building?  Can you build a "kit" of pieces which can be recombined into lots of different buildings?  Can you reuse a model and just change the texture, or the other way around?  Can you recolor your textures to create new textures with minimal effort?  Can you simplify your art style to increase the speed at which your buildings are created?

Lots of potential options that might or might not work for you.

Not all, I reuse some buildings but try to not overuse so the level doesn't look too replicated. I've also avoided using textures and only using base material colours so I don't need to create textures. The game has a bit of a minimal detail style.