Recommend book/resources for C# network programming?

Started by
11 comments, last by 8Observer8 4 years, 6 months ago

I'm working on a project that involves 2-way TCP/IP communication between a server and multiple clients over persistent socket connections. It's actually a non-game project but I'm sure the same principles apply, and it is  an area of game-programming I've always wanted to understand better.

I'm working in C# so can anyone recommend a one-volume book on this topic relevant to this language? I could definitely do with learning more about networking generally, but I do want something that covers my particular area - not just a book on networking but one which explains how to accomplish things in C#/.NET effectively.

I do not need it to be a book, but I do want it to be up to date and cohesive... say a series of articles online, that guides me through. I'm an experienced developer and have done quite a lot with C#, but little bare networking code - typically I've done HTTP web requests or used networking middleware that obscures some of the low-level details I need to know now.

Many thanks in advance!

Advertisement

I really recommend a fundamental networking book, like TCP/IP illustrated by Stevens, to understand many of the underlying concepts. Yes, it uses C. It's still a good reference.

THEN you can use books/tutorials that talk about networking-in-C# specifically. Those APIs have gone through three stages: Synchronouse/threaded, Asynchronous/old, and Asynchronous/new. You really want some material that uses the latest asynchronous model. Luckily, the online Microsoft documentation is pretty good for this, once you understand the underlying networking concepts.

For example: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet/framework/network-programming/asynchronous-client-socket-example

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dotnet/csharp/async

enum Bool { True, False, FileNotFound };