How to make buttons in ImGui in OpenGL with glfw

Started by
27 comments, last by Shaanveer 3 years, 9 months ago

Hey. I am new to ImGui and I wanted to know how to make a button with it. Thanks a lot.

Advertisement

Here is some basic code:

https://gist.github.com/sjhalayka/6cd70980ce38e2cb0aa64a46c4abc8b0

Shaanveer please drop that approach. You're clearly unable to compose something that does this with Dear ImGui, despite the example I provided last time. Use Godot.

Have you checked the links I provided last time?

I run the first ImGUI example in my life a few minutes later. Thanks to video above (The Cerno). I set up ImGUI in QtCreator IDE and MinGW 32-bit. I use QtCreater just like IDE for pure C++. I create the window using the GLFW library. I met a few simple problems but I solved them using Google very quickly. For example, I added the #define IMGUI_IMPL_OPENGL_LOADER_GLAD line in the imgui_impl_opengl3.cpp file. Now I can add GUI to my OpenGL 3 (GLFW and SDL2) projects in QtCreator. I need to try SDL2 because it has a built-in sound library that is good for simple 2D games and applications because it is easy to use and you need to add another library for sounds/music, but I think it will work too. ImGUI is cool library. I'm GUI. I'm Nigan ?

I compiled the example to Release: FirstExampleImGUI_win32.zip (490KB in archive and 1.30MB (unzipped state) with glfw3.dll)

@SuperVGA Yes. I saw the links but they didn't help to much

@8Observer8 How did you add the button icon it didn't say in the video. Is it in any other vid of his

Shaanveer said:

@SuperVGA Yes. I saw the links but they didn't help to much

Didn't help? Did you follow the tutorial?

Shaanveer said:
@8Observer8 How did you add the button icon it didn't say in the video. Is it in any other vid of his

I just copypasta the official “hello, world” example for GLFW: https://github.com/ocornut/imgui/blob/master/examples/example_glfw_opengl3/main.cpp