Need recommendations for a free 2d android game engine (please read post)

Started by
10 comments, last by Archwind 3 years, 4 months ago

Hi there, first things first, let me tell you my experience:

I Learned C# during high school, I also used Java (around 4-5 years ago) to create simple android apps.

Learned C , a little bit of python and some advanced C++ during few courses in college.

What this means is that I have good/sufficient experience in programming.

I'm a solo developer who is looking for an actually free game engine/framework to develop 2d android games, my purpose of developing games comes mainly as a hobby for spare time as well as make some (even if symbolic) money out of it. (I don't intend to make this a primary source of income, It's mainly a hobby but I'm also planning to publish my games in play store for some kind of additional income)

I have searched for free 2d game engines and considered the following: LibGDX, CoronaSDK/Solar2d, defold, cocos creator, cocos2dx and godot (please do inform me if you think I missed some options).

Here are somethings to consider when recommending something:

1) Please don't mention any of the popular commercial engines such as Unity,Unreal or Gamemaker for the following reasons:

* As mentioned before I'm seeking ACTUALLY free engines/frameworks like the mit or zlib licenses for instance (I'm not even seeking effectively free engines only ACTUALLY free)

* They get mentioned in every thread/post on any site I come across online (so I already heard/read about them alot)

2) I prefer code based engine that allows you to program game logic in text format as opposed to graphical/visual programming of any sort (blueprint, drag and drop, flowchart etc) , even though it's not necessary but it's still preferable.

3) Scene/Level editor is not required (I can do with or without)