Packet Encryption

Started by
28 comments, last by source61 3 years, 2 months ago

Okay yes I am aware that this question probably has been answered a million times over, an I’ll more then likely be trolled but I’ll ask anyway(the persistent never stop)

I am working on a small game with network protocol, I am still new to networking, my question is do I need to encrypt each an every packet? For example I am aware of these things so far

passwords are hashed via SHA-256 salted an stored in the database

any sensitive information (real player info) is similarly treated.

but now to the part I’m considering should I encrypt player position, chat, basic game mechanics transmissions? The average hacker can just reverse all the protocols in my client anyway the server won’t accept any fake/phony packets. I don’t want to make it to easy, but I also feel it’s a over kill as well. A friend of mine said I need to transmit all the data with a AES256 encryption. I think that’s a bit of a over kill, any information would be helpful, articles etc.

Thank you in advanced have a wonderful day!

Advertisement

Without being very experienced in security, I think it makes sense to think in game mechanics and server-side handling first. Then, if it seems to become an issue, consider encryption. Of course, don't send sensitive data or the likes, but if there's nothing of that on the line, I think it makes sense to save it for later.

Yes, you do. All data you send, no exceptions, but especially chat. Because people can and do have private conversations over in-game chat. People can and do mention their real life identities in in-game chat, with the expectation that only recipient (and possibly the administrators and moderators) have access to that information. Without encryption, you're broadcasting that information to every creep with a packet listener who sits between the server and the player. Don't do that.

a light breeze said:

Yes, you do.