What should I learn first for gamedev compurter science or C

Started by
4 comments, last by swiftcoder 3 years, 1 month ago

Hello. I want to apologize for my English. My question is should I learn C before C++ if I have been studying C++ for several months already. I know that's not enough. I just learned the basics of syntax and touched on the classes a bit. Or maybe I should don't study the language at all yet, but just study computer science and algorithms. Or learn a programming language and computer science in parallel. In general, I'm confused) Help me figure it out. I would like to get a job in the industry in the future. Thank you in advance.

Advertisement

Take a Degree in Computer Science, it will teach you the correct course of actions (languages, prog techniques, and more);

If you learn a prog language alone, you will know how to use it, but you will lack the knowledge of prog techniques (which are usually taught in Computer Science courses) and a good Degree keeps up-to-date with current tech to keep you equipped well enough for the future;

this way, during your Course, when you have a spare moment, you can work on a side hobby project where you can experiment techniques they teach you in this Course and gain more experience; (practice will make you perfect, well… sorta -lol-)

Hope this clears your confusion ;

All the best ;-)

Maks_1995 said:
I would like to get a job in the industry in the future.

ddlox said:
Take a Degree in Computer Science

This. Absolutely.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Maks_1995 said:
I have been studying C++ for several months already. I know that's not enough.

Those are good. Right now learn all you can, learn anything that interests you. Learn multiple programming languages. Learn multiple tools and technologies. Experiment and try things out.

Maks_1995 said:
I would like to get a job in the industry in the future.