Does Nintendo use Nurbs to create their game environments ?

Started by
13 comments, last by Tom Sloper 3 years, 1 month ago

Hello,

I'm a hobbyist modeler, mainly focusing on building game environments (I plan on making my own platform game).

I started modeling on SGI machines using Alias/PowerAnimator and Softimage 3D.

I don't know why but I love modeling with NURBS curves and surfaces. I find them very convenient for very quickly making "curvy" landscapes and other organic surfaces.

I tried modeling/sculpting with polygons but I find it very hard (if not impossible) to achieve the same look.

Knowing that NURBS aren't used at all in the gaming industry is beyond my understatement...

I'm also a fan of Nintendo games, more precisely Mario games.

As such I noticed in games like Mario Sunshine, Mario Galaxy or Mario Odyssey, that the environments have that "curvy" look that screams "Made with NURBS".

Could Nintendo be using NURBS to model their game worlds, then converting them to polys (this can be done very quickly in Maya for instance) ?

Or do they only model in polys from beginning to end ?

I know Nintendo is very secretive just about everything but if someone has infos on the subject that would be great.

Thanks a lot

Advertisement

NurbsGuy said:
As such I noticed in games like Mario Sunshine, Mario Galaxy or Mario Odyssey, that the environments have that "curvy" look that screams "Made with NURBS".

To model curvy stuff, Catmull Clark Subdivision Surfaces became standard. (Well, before there was sculpting)

I guess this is what they use at Nintendo, but don't know. Disney uses it for most modeling for sure.

For organic modeling it's great, and better than Nurbs IMO. Nurbs remains attractive for technical things like cars.

It seems to me that it was likely patch-based modelling, tesselated on-the-fly, at least back in the old days.