How did you become a gamedev?

Started by
13 comments, last by Winters 2 years, 9 months ago

Hello!

I have been working as an SEO for over 3 years and have been thinking about changing my job for a while now. What's the best place to start in order to become a game developer? I understand that it would probably be easier for me to go into web development, but I'm interested in more complex architectures and I have a couple of java programmers I know. Can you tell me where you started, how did you study and what would you advise me to study first.

Advertisement

I started on a ZX81, then got a big boys job programming in Cobol for ICL. kept up to date with technology, used many different programming languages on various projects.

Get a free or cheap programming package and just practice.

JumblyApps

Holy cow! You’re in luck.because there are WebGL and three.js to work with — it’s all JavaScript (not the same thing as Java).

i started ’game’ dev in BASIC, and then C, and then C++.

What courses would you recommend? It's quite difficult to learn on your own and I think it takes quite a long time.

If you wish to start from scratch, then you should learn OpenGL, Direct3D, or Vulkan. If not, then you should learn Unity or Unreal Engine. What’s it going to be? You’ll be using C++ or C#. Forget about Java; it’s a dead language.

Hey, a switch from the old one to new opportunities is always a great path full of new stuff. Congrats!
Do you have any ideas about what kind of games you want to create?

Regarding my experience with programming, I've started earlier with C++. Then I've tried a little bit of C#. It's the basic required item for UE.
Also, a friend of mine helped me with JavaScript and when coming to WebGL I was accustomed to it already.

On this, I'd strongly recommend picking which part of game development you're interested in as it can be absolutely massive. Once you have that, then you can decide what are the best steps to take to achieve what you want.