Button assignment conventions

Started by
4 comments, last by Tom Sloper 2 years, 10 months ago

Hi all, first post, thanks for having me.

I have been developing games for a few years but not yet released anything. I have completed a few small games and currently developing my first serious attempt at publishing a game for Oculus Rift / any VR device. The controllers are much like Xbox/PlayStation etc with A and B on the right controller and X and Y on the left, and triggers and thumb-sticks on both sides. Developing on Unity although that shouldn't be a consideration.

I am wondering if there's a list or table or any resource that might guide me as to which buttons I should assign to certain functions. I have become aware that gamers become familiar with games faster if they follow generally accepted conventions for each button press.

The obvious ones might be: Right trigger for fire, Right thumb-stick for forward/back/left/right, A button (or Right Primary) for switching and restart etc and even that might not be best. Because I have played games my whole life on PC I am not familiar with these hand controllers and what each button should do.

Some examples I need are, which button for: in-game toggle to open help overlay, scrolling thru help pages, restarting current level, switching to next level, show scores (or some other data overlay) pause, quit, save.

Thanks for any help.

Advertisement

Hi. New here. Just a gamer. Just thought I'd put my 2 cents in. Are you in VR? Why are you using the buttons on the controllers? Just think of them like hands and fingers to access the digiworld. Put the buttons in VR. Hold, activate and rotate is really all you need your hands to do.

adrianl3d said:
I am wondering if there's a list or table or any resource that might guide me as to which buttons I should assign to certain functions.