What are important skills for a game designer to have?

Started by
6 comments, last by frob 7 months ago

I am a college student studying game programming and set to graduate by the end of 2023. I am at the point where I need to starting putting serious focus into my career goals and working on skills that I will need to continue developing even after school. One specialization that fascinates me is that of a gameplay designer. I love the idea of conceptualizing gameplay systems for games and working being able to work closely with technical, artistic, and business teams on a project. This is a long term goal as I don't expect to find any game design job right out of college.

What skills can I focus on developing outside of industry experience that help prepare for this role?

Is there anything I can focus on in my portfolio work to show my skills as a designer?

What entry level job opportunities should I go for to get closer to become a gameplay designer?

Any other general advice on this subject would also be greatly appreciated.

Advertisement

elden.julien said:
What skills can I focus on developing outside of industry experience that help prepare for this role?

Any that interest you, that you think are probably transferable.

elden.julien said:
What entry level job opportunities should I go for to get closer to become a gameplay designer?

Any role that interests you and that you are reasonably good at.

elden.julien said:
Is there anything I can focus on in my portfolio work to show my skills as a designer?

Any aspect of design that you enjoy and are best at.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

While auxiliary skills are undoubtedly useful, the most important skill is the most obvious one: designing games. Don't wait until you are hired to do this. Don't wait for a school assignment to do this. Don't wait for someone to tell you how to do this. Start designing right away.