The chunks the game is made of

Started by
13 comments, last by JoeJ 6 months, 2 weeks ago

These are the WIP main sections of my game what do you think?

A GameEntity base class with an Update function. I will have a loop in which every frame I will iterate through all GameEntities and run the Update function.

Collision detection and range check. Range check against buildings with four “collision” bodies at the corner of each building and also against enemy units.

A routine to run the build orders for AI players

Is there something missing?

My project`s facebook page is “DreamLand Page”

Advertisement

Yes. Code.

No, I am not a professional programmer. I'm just a hobbyist having fun...

MarkS said:

Yes. Code.

I posted my code once here in the blogs section. Maybe I’ll post code again in the future.
For now I’m just presenting how things should be in theory

Calin said:

You forgot the most important: Handling player input.
You always only worry about NPC and world simulation it seems, which is our technical challenge.
But we do this only for one reason: It should be fun to interact with, which is our design challenge and what makes the game good or bad for most.

Calin said:
A GameEntity base class with an Update function. I will have a loop in which every frame I will iterate through all GameEntities and run the Update function.

Sounds you want to adopt some generic software design concepts without knowing exactly why you should, or what's the advantage / disadvantage of said concept over others.